University of Cambridge, Faculty of Law

Professor Graham Virgo Nominated for OUP Law Teacher of the Year 2013 Award

Posted on Wednesday 16th January 2013.

Law Teacher of the Year 2013Cambridge University's Professor Graham Virgo is one of six individuals shortlisted for the title 'OUP Law Teacher of the Year 2013', sponsored by Oxford University Press. The award will be made at an event early in 2013.

The Law Teacher of the Year Award is a national award aimed at recognizing the vital role that teachers play in the education of tomorrow's lawyers, and rewarding achievement in teaching. Professor Virgo has previously been awarded the Pilkington Prize for teaching.

Following nomination, candidates will undergo a thorough judging process, whereby judges will visit to observe and film the candidates’ teaching methods, and conduct interviews with colleagues, students, Heads of Department as well as the teacher, to build up a body of evidence on which to base their decision.

The full list of nominees for Law Lecturer of the Year is:

  • Bela Chatterjee, Lancaster University
  • Odette Hutchinson, Aston University
  • Claire McGourlay, University of Sheffield
  • Leanne Smith, Cardiff University
  • Graham Virgo, University of Cambridge
  • Dawn Watkins, University of Leicester



Law Teacher of the Year 2013

Faculty of Law