skip to content
Sunday, 23 November 2014

Two of the Faculty’s International Lawyers Awarded Leverhulme PrizesThe Leverhulme Trust has awarded Leverhulme Prizes to two University Lecturers at the Faculty, Dr Sarah Nouwen and Dr Michael Waibel. The prizes recognise "the achievement of early career researchers whose work has already attracted international recognition and whose future career is exceptionally promising". Sarah received the prize for her research into the catalysing effect of the International Criminal Court in Uganda and Sudan; Michael for his work on sovereign defaults in international law.

Given that the Prize is awarded only every three years to five lawyers across the United Kingdom, the Faculty is delighted that two of its members are among the prize winners this year. Sarah and Michael both work at the Lauterpacht Centre for International Law, the Faculty's dedicated research centre for international law.

The Leverhulme Trust was established by the Will of William Hesketh Lever, the founder of Lever Brothers. Since 1925 the Trust has provided grants and scholarships for research and education. Today, it is one of the largest all-subject providers of research funding in the UK, distributing over £60m a year. For more information about the Trust, please visit