skip to content

Collaborative Research Program in Biomedical Innovation Law (CeBIL)

The Collaborative Research Program in Biomedical Innovation Law (CeBIL) is a substantial international collaboration between the University of Copenhagen's Law Faculty (principal organisation), Harvard Law School, Harvard Medical School, the University of Cambridge's Centre for Law, Medicine and Life Sciences, the University of Michigan, and the University of Copenhagen's Department of Food and Resource Economics (IFRO), alongside a broad network of stakeholder organisations and international experts within law, economics, life sciences, medicine, sociology, and pharmacy. The collaboration is led by Professor Timo Minssen from the University of Copenhagen (formerly a LML Visiting Scholar), and is generously funded by the Novo Nordisk Foundation.

Read more


Tax Research Network

Dr Dominic de Cogan is a Vice-President of the Tax Research Network. The TRN organises annual conferences that attract delegates from a range of professional and disciplinary backgrounds, including law, accounting, management and economics. There is a deep and enthusiastic international engagement with the TRN; the most recent conference featured speakers from Austria, Australia, Canada, Ireland, Israel, Italy, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Sweden, Thailand and Turkeys as well as the UK. It provides an ideal opportunity to discuss shared interests with a specialist yet highly diverse group of tax scholars and practitioners.

Money in the Western Legal Tradition

Since 2010, Dr David Fox has co-led a collaborative research project on "Money in the Western Legal Tradition" in conjunction with Professor Wolfgang Ernst, Professor of Roman and Private Law a the University of Zürich. The project was funded by a grant from the Gerda Henkel Stiftung under the theme of "Comparative Studies in Continental and Anglo-American Legal History".

The aim of the project has been to prepare the first comparative history of monetary law, covering both civil law and common law jurisdictions. It spans the period from the High Middle Ages to the re-formation of the international monetary order in the Bretton Woods Agreement after the Second World War. Uniquely, the project has drawn on the expertise of numismatists, legal historians, historians of economic history to provide a connected view of monetary law in the context of the economic influences that have shaped it.

The outcome of the project will be a multi-authored book published by Oxford University Press in 2015. It aims to be the definitive book in a field that has hardly been touched by legal historians.

The project contributors include: Dr Martin Allen (Fitzwilliam Museum Cambridge), Professor Michael D Bordo (Rutgers University), Professor Christine Desan (Harvard Law School), Professor Harry Dondorp (VU University, Amsterdam), Professor Benjamin Geva (Osgoode Hall Law School, York University), Professor Roy Kreitner (University of Tel Aviv), Professor Peter Kugler (Universität Basel), Professor Stefan Meder (Leibniz Universität, Hannover), Professor Michael North (University of Greifswald), Professor Angela Redish (University of British Columbia), Professor William Roberds (Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta), Professor James Rogers (Boston College), Professor Clausdieter Schott (Universität Zürich), Professor Helmut Siekmann (Institute for Monetary and Financial Stability, Frankfurt am Main), Professor Andreas Thier (Universität Zürich), Professor Jan Thiessen (Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen), Professor Alain Wijffels (Université catholique de Louvain), Dr Fabian Wittreck (Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster), Professor Randall Wray (University of Missouri-Kansas City), Professor Kenneth Reid (University of Edinburgh), François R Velde (Chicago Federal Reserve), Raskto Vrbaski (Swiss Financial Markets Supervisory Authority (FINMA)).

Comparative Studies in Continental and Anglo-American Legal History

Members of the Faculty have for many years frequently been involved in international working groups producing volumes in the Comparative Studies in Continental and Anglo-American Legal History series, published by Duncker & Humblot and funded by the Gerda Henkel Foundation. At present, for example, Professor Neil Jones is a member of the group working on a volume – to be edited by Professor Mark Godfrey of the University of Glasgow and Professor Dr R.H. van Rhee of Maastricht University – on the comparative history of central courts in Europe and the Americas in the period 1200 to 1800, writing on the English court of Chancery. The questions investigated by contributions to this volume will include the political context for the creation or development of the various courts, the jurisdiction of the courts, its sources and changes in it over time, and the relationship between the jurisdiction of the courts and any privy council or residual jurisdiction of a parliament or legislature.

Legal Tools for Peace-Making

Professor Marc Weller leads an ESRC funded project on Legal Tools for Peace-Making, which aims to provide coherence to the burgeoning practice of internationalised peace-making, offering practice-relevant guidance for mediators, while gaining important conceptual insights into the nature of this rapidly developing area of law. The project team (Professor Marc Weller, Dr Tiina Pajuste, Andrea Varga, Dr Mark Retter and Jake Rylatt) works closely with leading international experts on conflict resolution through two international – academic and practitioner – advisory boards.

The academic advisory board consists of Prof Mats Berdal (Kings College London), Prof Gabriella Blum (Harvard University), Prof Simon Chesterman (National University of Singapore), Prof Virginia Page Fortna (Columbia University), Dr Mark Freeman (Institute for Integrated Transitions), Prof Larry May (Vanderbilt University), Prof Randall Lesaffer (Tilburg University), Prof Ruti Teitel (New York University), Dr Ralph Wilde (University College London), and Dr Stina Högblad (Uppsala University).

The practitioner advisory board consists of Prof John Packer (Director, Human Rights Research and Education Centre; University of Ottawa), Roxaneh Bazergan (Team Leader, UN MSU), Robert Dann (Chief, UN MSU), Rohan Edrisinha (Senior Constitutions Advisor, UN MSU), Malgozata Wasilewska (Head of Division, European External Action Service), Eldridge Adolfo (European External Action Service), Tomas Henning (European External Action Service), Prof Christina Murray (Director, Bingham Centre for the Rule of Law), Jean Michel Arrighi (Secretary for Legal Affairs, OAS), Vincent Nmehielle (Legal Counsel/Director, African Union), Zahar Marie-Joelle (UN MSU), Andy Carl (Conciliation Resources), and Mark Muller KC (UN MSU Standby Team).

In addition, the project team is collaborating with the United Nations Mediation Support Unit (UN MSU) to deliver an online database of peace agreements and a set of working papers on relevant topic areas on legal tools for peace-making through the UN Peacemaker website. Cooperative networks have also been developed with other regional organisations involved in conflict mediation, such as the European Union and the Organization of American States.

Read more